Mondays with Megan-Happy December! 12/1/14

Greetings! I hope you all had a nice Thanksgiving. Mine was quiet and relaxing and I had plenty of time over the long weekend for reading. I also went and saw Mockingjay Part 1. Its been a long time since I read the book, but I actually like the fact that I no longer remember details. For me the book and the movie are two very different experiences and I try not to compare them too much. Also, I really like Jennifer Lawrence’s Katniss more than the Katniss in the books.

The end of the year is near! Can I finish 23 more books in the next 31 days? I sure am going to try!

mondayreading new monday

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

hosted by Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts

Finished:

faceless ones yes please something like normal 1339 flunked my true love

  • The Faceless Ones by Derek Landy. This is the third book in The Skulduggery Pleasant series. Valkyrie Cain is a little older and a little wiser, and it’s a good thing because the danger she faces is the most terrifying yet! The series has really taken a dark and deadly turn. I can’t wait for more.
  • Yes Please by Amy Poehler. I loved every minute of this one. This could also be called Amy Poehler Kills at Adulthood. I want to be a grown up like her.
  • Something Like Normal by Trish Doller. This is a gritty look at one young man’s struggle with PTSD following a tour in Afghanistan. Moving, powerful, and the cover does this one a huge disservice. This one is definitely for more mature readers.
  • 1339 Quite Interesting Facts by John Lloyd. I have always enjoyed trivia-style snippets of weird information, so I knew I had to take this one home. I shared many of the facts with my nephews on our drive to Thanksgiving dinner, however, I would not hand this to a child. There are a number of interesting, but not family friendly, facts in the collection!
  • Flunked by Jen Calonita. I will have a full review soon, but this was  cute middle grade/YA crossover about a reform school for former fairy tale villains. Fans of fractured fairy tales will want to watch for this one!
  • My True Love Gave to Me by Stephanie Perkins. Confession: I am quite Scroogey when it comes to holiday stories. This collection of twelve holiday stories had some that were ok, some that I really enjoyed, and a couple that I loved. So, overall, a surprisingly satisfying holiday read!

Current Audio:

song of the quarkbeast food

  • The Song of the Quarkbeast by Jasper Fforde
  • Food: a Love Story by Jim Gaffigan

Currently Reading:

captive jackaby oz

  • Captive by Aimee Carter
  • Jackaby by William Ritter
  • There’s No Place Like Oz by Danielle Paige.

On Deck:

I’m not sure! Maybe one of these:

invaders glory o'brien black ice

Happy Reading!

∼Megan

 

6 responses to “Mondays with Megan-Happy December! 12/1/14

  1. I just saw today that The Horn Book is giving Glory O’Brien’s a starred review, so that might help you decide 🙂

  2. My True Love Gave to Me looks like a blast. Maybe I will see if I can grab it from the library!

  3. Oh oh oh I want to read Jackaby! maybe I should just grab that since I just finished another book – but I also want to get THE LAST UNICORN read before I meet the author on Friday at a book signing /movie viewing!

  4. These all look like great reads. I’m waiting for Yes Please to arrive from our local library. The Last Dragonslayer has been on my to read list for ages. You’ve motivated me to get to it this coming winter break.

  5. I saw Mockingjay this weekend as well. It just might be the first time I enjoyed a movie more than a book. The Hanging Tree is STILL in my head.

  6. I hope to own all the Skulduggery Pleasant novels someday soon. I have quite a few in my collection now. I am waiting until I have everything before I start reading them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

