Mondays with Megan 12/8/14

This is such a busy time of year! Between preparing for Christmas (my family goes all out when it comes to baking), all the socializing, wrapping up programming at the library, I am starting to panic about getting everything done. Add in my newly discovered Supernatural obsession and my compulsive need to read 200 books this year and I predict that I will not be getting much sleep any time soon. Oh well. I like a challenge. 😉 Before I tell you a little about all the fantastic books I read last week, allow me to shamelessly plug the Reference Department’s blog, Read it or Weep. This week will feature out favorites of 2014 lists. My Top 14 of 2014 is up today!

mondayreading new monday

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Be sure to stop by Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for more Monday lists.

Finished:

song of the quarkbeast oz captive food wonder marvel

  • Jackaby by William Ritter introduces R.F. Jackaby, a detective specializing in the paranormal. It is 1892 and Abigail Rook has run away to New England looking for adventure. She finds all the adventure she can handle when she responds to Jackaby’s help wanted ad. This promise series starter is clever and fun and will please fans of Sherlock!
  • The Song of the Quarkbeast by Jasper Fforde is the sequel to The Last Dragonslayer. Big Magic has arrived and King Snodd has plans to control it for himself but Jennifer Strange and the magicians of Kazam are in his way. This series continues to be  charming and goofy, making it a perfect all-ages read.
  • No Place Like Oz by Danielle Paige is a prequel novella for her novel Dorothy Must Die. Readers learn how Dorothy returned to Oz and came to rule the magical kingdom. This quick read offers fascinating insight into the characters of Dorothy, Ozma and Glinda.
  • Captive by Aimee Carter is the sequel to Pawn. I actually liked this one better than the first. Many secrets are revealed and there is plenty of action.
  • Food: a Love Story by Jim Gaffigan is literally the author’s thoughts about different types of food. I enjoyed listening to this one while walking the dog.
  • Wonder by R.J. Palacio. You all already know about this one. I finally read it myself. It was lovely.
  • Ms. Marvel by G. Willow Wilson introduces a new superhero. Kamala is a sixteen-year old Muslim teen who wishes for a different life. Specifically, she wishes she was the blonde-haired, blue-eyed Captain Marvel. After having her wish granted she begins to learn that being someone else is not all it’s cracked up to be. But being a superhero is still really cool. I loved this new story and plan to follow Kamala/Ms. Marvel on all her future endeavors!

Current Audio:

blue lily, lily blue

Currently Reading:

glory o'brien witch saga cost

On Deck: So many choices, but I think these are on the top of the pile!

handful ice dragon

P.S. For those of you who are wondering, I am now only 3 books behind on my goal. I have to finish 16 more books.

Happy Reading!

∼Megan

4 responses to “Mondays with Megan 12/8/14

  1. Wonder and Jackaby are still on my TBR mountain. I have met my GoodReads goal but am trying to read lots of January review books in the rest of December. I over-committed and am worried I won’t get them all read in a timely manner. Here is my week. Happy reading!

  2. I just finished Jackaby, which I LOVED! Haven’t read the others, although a lot are on my TBR! Hadn’t heard of Ms. Marvel, might have to check that one out! Thanks for swinging my my blog 🙂 New Follower!

  3. Wasn’t Food fun? I laughed a lot!

  4. Everyone seems to be adoring Saga. I think it will have to be a 2015 read!

Leave a Reply

