Top Ten Tuesday- Top Ten New-to-Me Authors of 2014

toptentuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is all about the fantastic authors that I discovered this year. I spent plenty of time with my beloved tried and true favorites, but I also stumbled upon some new gems!

1. Derek Landy. I recently discovered Skulduggery Pleasant. This series is so much fun and quite possibly the best discovery of 2014. I am waiting for book 4 right now.

skulduggery

2. Leigh Bardugo. I discovered and devoured the Grisha trilogy in 2014.

shadow and bone

3. Jasper Fforde. In my quest to find fantasy novels for my middle school book club, I picked up The Last Dragonslayer and loved it.

last dragonslayer

4. Jennifer E. Smith. I have enjoyed all of her contemporary YA romances.

statistical probability

5. Robin LaFevers. I finally got around to starting His Fair Assassins trilogy. I still need to finish the last one. I don’t want it to be over, so I am dragging my heels.

grave mercy

I also enjoyed a number of 2014 debuts. I will be watching for more from these new-to-everyone in 2014 authors!

6. Brandy Colbert. Her debut, Pointe, was an intense read.

point

7. Tess Sharpe. Far From You was another dark, emotional debut.

far from you

8. Danielle Paige. I am thoroughly immersed in this twisted version of Oz.

dorothy

9. Gavin Extence. I loved his debut novel and am pleased to see he has another book coming in March!

universe verses

10. Mindy McGinnis. This fellow Ohioan’s debut novel was really interesting. I have the follow-up waiting for me at home.

not a drop to drink

8 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday- Top Ten New-to-Me Authors of 2014

  1. I still need to read Leigh Bardugo. She’s high on my TBR list, though, as well as Robin Lafevers.

  2. I have Leigh Bardugo’s and Robin LaFevers’s books in my TBR pile. I’m not familiar with the rest of these authors, though.

  3. I love Leigh Bardugos writing and setting but I basically hated all the characters in Shadow and Bone haha. That being said I really want to read her next book coming out which is still in the Grisha universe. I love, love, love His Fair Assassin and I really need to get onto reading the last one!

  4. Danielle Paige is a new-to-me author this year as well. She didn’t quite make my top 10, but I also have enjoyed that Oz. Here’s my New to Me Authors post.

  5. I love the Skulduggery Pleasamt series, I have it in german as an audiobook (I’m normally not a fan of audiobooks but this is read nicely) and it’s so funny.

  6. I haven’t read any of these authors yet, but many are high on my TBR list. I really want to get to Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha trilogy – I already own the first two books. Great list!

  7. I’m with you on Jennifer E. Smith, she definitely would’ve made my list had I not read her for the first time last year… Also, Leigh Bardugo is awesome, I can’t wait to read Siege and Storm and Ruin and Rising.

  8. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday-Favorite Top Ten Tuesday Topics-6/23/15 | YA? Why Not?

Leave a Reply

