Top Ten Tuesday-Best of 2014-12/16/14

toptentuesdayThis week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is the hardest list of the year! I have already made one favorites of 2014 list. This one will be strictly YA. I mean, why not?

1. I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson. This is hands down my absolute favorite book of 2014. I will definitely be reading this again.

i'll give you the sun

2. Grave Mercy & Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers. I can’t believe it took me so long to get around to these. I just bought myself Mortal Hearts this weekend.

grave mercy dark triumph

3. Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor. I am still going through Karou and Akiva withdrawal. This was one of the most stunning and lyrical series I have ever read. I LOVED the audio.

dreams of gods and monsters

4. The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan. It was sad to say goodbye to my young demigod friends, but this was a satisfying ending and I look forward to new adventures with new heroes.

blood of olympus

5. Cress by Marissa Meyer. I think that this series improves with each book. I am desperate for more.

cress

6. Better Off Friends by Elizabeth Eulberg. This was such a sweet contemporary romance.

better off friends

7. Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige. This was one of my most anticipated reads of 2014. It is a wickedly delightful take on Oz.

dorothy

8. Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys. I am very selective about historical fiction. My rule is: Always select anything Ruta Sepetys writes!

out of the easy

9. All Fall Down by Ally Carter. I was so fortunate to get an advanced reader copy of this first book in her new series. Fans will not be disappointed!

All Fall Down

10. Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy. This new-to-me series has become a bit of an addiction. Interestingly enough, it coincides with my new-to-me obsession with Supernatural. Totally late to the party, but so happy I made it!

skulduggery

I am not finished reading these yet, but they definitely have earned an honorable mention:

glory o'brien all the bright places

Finally, I know I said this list was going to be all YA, but I would wholeheartedly recommend these two adult books to teen readers. I loved them both for very different reasons.

vicious universe verses

Happy Reading!

∼Megan

universe vres alex woods

vicious

2 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-Best of 2014-12/16/14

  1. I also loved the audios of Laini Taylor’s trilogy. Such brilliant narration–though I so missed Brimstone’s voice in Books 2 and 3! I have read several great reviews of Dorothy Must Die–really want to get to that one in 2015.

  2. I loved the Skulduggery Pleasant series so much. It gets more mature as it goes on too!

Leave a Reply

