Mondays with Megan-Cookies, Serial, and Holiday Parties, Oh My! 12/22/14

I am knee-deep in holiday preparations and feeling super flighty about my reading material. I started and set aside a few books last week but the books I managed to finish were fantastic. I am 7 books away from making my 200 book goal and have plenty of time after Christmas to plow through them. I didn’t do much listening last week because I was completely immersed in the podcast Serial. There was so much buzz and chatter about this on my Facebook wall that I had to check it out. Season one of this nonfiction audio story is about the 1999 murder of a teen in Maryland. After her body was found, her ex-boyfriend was convicted of the crime, though he maintains that he is innocent. It was engrossing and well worth the time. I binged on the 12 episodes over the course of 4 day! Here is a quick look at what I did manage to read last week:

mondayreading new monday

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

This weekly meme is hosted by Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts.

Finished:

glory o'brien blue lily, lily blue lucky us all the bright places

  • Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future by A.S. King. This is one of A.S. King’s more unusual books, but she is my hero and I loved this one. It’s a disturbing cautionary tale, a feminist manifesto, and a hopeful coming-of-age all wrapped up in to one weird book.
  • Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater. The third book in The Raven Cycle series answers a few lingering questions from the previous book, but the story isn’t over!
  • Lucky Us by Amy Bloom. I think this one would have been better read than listened to. I liked the idea and I loved the main character, but I felt like the letters got lost on audio and they made the whole story seem rushed. It was fine, but not a favorite.
  • All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. I will have a longer review of this ARC soon. I hope. I find the comparison to Fault in Our Stars off-putting, but in the end I enjoyed it. As much as one can enjoy this type of emotional books.

Current Audio:

revival

Currently Reading:

how to be a woman skink princess dark days

Happy Reading!

~Megan

5 responses to “Mondays with Megan-Cookies, Serial, and Holiday Parties, Oh My! 12/22/14

  1. I’m looking forward to reading all the books on your list! I’ve been hearing lots of good things about All the Bright Places.

  2. I am soooo glad that the Raven Cycle isn’t over quite yet. I just picked up her duology of Lament and Ballad to fill my Stiefvater gap.

  3. Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future looks like an intriguing choice for the 7th. and 8th. graders who borrow books from my classroom – thanks for sharing!

  4. All The Bright Places looks so good! I also need to read Blue Lily, Lily Blue 🙂

  5. Blue Lily, Lily Blue is on my stack, will read it soon. I enjoy Stiefvater’s books very much. Glad to hear you enjoyed the A.S. King book. I’m not familiar with it, so will add it my my list. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

