Mondays with Megan-Happy New Year! 1/12/15

Oh, dear, it must be Monday because I spent a nice chunk of time Saturday preparing this post and in one swift motion this morning I managed to delete it. I am not actually sure how, but it is irretrievable. Gah! I have no idea what I wrote. I am pretty sure I said something about being sick and hitting a reading slump. Oh! Wait. I remember. I recently took over ordering and maintaining the Adult Graphic Novel collection here at the library so I combined my goal of getting to know the collection better with my overall 2015 reading goal and came up with the number 225. I am going to be reading a lot of graphic novels this year! Also, I decided to try my hand at Tumblr. It’s a work in progress, but you can check it out at ya-why-not.

I have 2 weeks worth of reading to report on!

mondayreading   new monday

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is hosted by Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts.

Finished:

girls like us princess trillium ticking when i was the greatest stitches revival gabi

  • Girls Like Us by Gail Giles-This is a Cybils Finalist. It’s all very hush, hush for now.
  • Princess Decomposia and Count Spatula by Andi Watson-What a cute YA graphic novel. Coming-of-age, romance, and the undead.
  • Trillium by Jeff Lemire-A super trippy sci-fi standalone from the author of the Sweet Tooth series.
  • The Ticking by Renée French-A strange little graphic novel with very few words. The story of the a boy with facial deformities is told mostly through weird but lovely black and white pencil drawings.
  • When I was the Greatest by Jason Reynolds-Another Cybils Finalist.
  • Stitches by David Small-A graphic memoir, fitting from YA and Adult readers. Loved it.
  • Revival by Stephen King-Not my favorite from King, but a solid character study with a bizarre ending.
  • Gabi, A Girl in Pieces by Isabel Quintero-Yet another Cybils Finalist.

Current Audio:

rosie effect

  • The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion. This follow-up to The Rosie Project has been heavily criticized, but I am still enjoying the audio. It is early in the book, but so far no complaints.

Currently Reading:

funny girl great typo

I still need to pick a new YA, but I have so many choices! I can’t decide.

Abandoned:

atlantia

It’s not bad, but I just didn’t care.

Happy Reading!

~Megan

3 responses to “Mondays with Megan-Happy New Year! 1/12/15

  1. I got myself on the hold list for “Funny Girl” at the library. Unfortunately, I’m way, way down on it. Sigh!

  2. Don’t you hate it when things mysteriously vanish online? I like your idea of reading more adult graphic novels. My husband has been filling our shelves at home with graphic novels and I have read very few of them. It might be time to get a couple off the shelf and see what he is raving about. Stitches sounds like a good one to start with. Have a great reading week!

  3. I became a fan of graphic novels after reading American Born Chinese a number of years ago. I’m always looking for new good ones so I’m happy to stumble upon your post here. I’m looking forward to reading stitches. Have you read This One Summer by Mariko Tamaki and Jillian Tamaki? I had to read it twice to really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

