Mondays with Megan-Spring Fever! 3/16/15

Greetings! It’s a gloriously warm day here in Northeast Ohio and all I can think about is sitting on a patio with a book…that day will come eventually. My big exciting news this week is that I *finally* ungraded my phone to a smart phone. It didn’t take long to fall in love with my iphone. One of my favorite features? If you guessed downloading audiobooks, you are correct. It is so easy to do and the library has tons of great titles. See our wonderful collection for yourself here. I personally have my eyes on Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn series. It’s been on my To Read list for ages! I think it’s time to create a wish list.

mondayreading Mon Reading Button PB to YA

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is hosted by Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts

Finished:

first frosts shadow cabinet saucer country

  • First Frost by Sarah Addison Allen-♥♥♥♥♥-Readers get to catch up with the Waverlys of Bascomb. A lot has changed for sisters Sydney and Claire since Garden Spells. Just magical and delightful.
  • The Shadow Cabinet by Maureen Johnson-♥♥♥♥♥-The third installment of the Shades of London series picks up where the cruel cliffhanger of book 2 left off. The story branches out into exciting new territory!
  • Saucer Country by Paul Cornell-♥♥♥-When the leading Democratic candidate for president (a Hispanic woman!) claims that she was abducted by aliens her trusted advisers scramble to make sense of her claim. This was an interesting blend of political intrigue and X-Files. It wasn’t my favorite, but I will certainly pick up the second volume.

Current Audio:

last anniversary stiff

  • The Last Anniversary by Liane Moriarty. I am working my way through her collection of work. This is her second book and came to me via Interlibrary Loan. Did you know you could do that? It’s so easy to do. You can do it yourself from our website or ask your favorite librarian to help you!
  • Stiff: The Curious Life of Human Cadavers by Mary Roach. This is my first download to my iphone!

Currently Reading: (once again I am kind of all over the place, starting and stopping books left and right)

how to start a fire undertaking of lily chen kingdom of the wicked girl with all the gifts

Sort of Reading: (aka, picking up and putting down, but still interested)

harry grave peril girl at midnight

Returned unread:

mosquitoland

I am looking forward to another week of awesome reads!

Happy Reading!

~Megan

6 responses to “Mondays with Megan-Spring Fever! 3/16/15

  1. I just read The Shadow Cabinet as well! Definitely a new favorite!

  2. I thought Stiff was such an interesting read. I must remember to pick up some other books by Mary Roach one of these days!

    • This is my second Mary Roach book. Gulp was my first. I love her style and interest in the unusual. I am sure I will eventually make my way through most of her books.

  3. The Girl with all the Gifts spoke to me here – I will definitely be on the lookout for that one. We also have interlibrary loan here in Singapore, it costs 1.55 though but it’s so worth it.

  4. I love the cover for The Undertaking of Lily Chen. I haven’t heard of it before, but I’m going to have to check it out now, it looks very intriguing. I hope you’re enjoying it.

  5. msoreadsbookstx

    Oh, Shadow Cabinet! I need to get a hold of that!

Leave a Reply

