Top Ten Tuesday-Books From My Younger Years That I Would Like to Revisit-3/24/15

toptentuesdayThis week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is about revisiting books from our past. This a tricky one for me. A couple of years ago I revisited a childhood favorite-A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle. What a mistake! I can’t explain what the appeal was 30 years ago, but as an adult I was bored out of my mind. This leaves me hesitant to “ruin” any other beloved memories. Maybe I am just no longer confident that my favorites can stand the test of time?

1. Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder. I have already revisited a few titles in this series, so they are safe!

little house

2. The Serendipity series of books by Stephen Cosgrove. I still have a few battered books from this collection. I should dig them out.

leo the lop serendipity flutterby

3. The works of Beatrix Potter. How can one ever be disappointed with Peter Rabbit?

peter rabbit

4. Trinity by Leon Uris. This book was a right of passage in my family. I read it in high school and have reread it at least twice since then.

trinity

5. A Prayer For Owen Meany by John Irving. Such vivid memories of reading this one in high school.

owen meany

6. The Bean Trees by Barbara Kingsolver. I read this one is college and loved it.

bean trees

7. Island of the Blue Dolphin by Scott O’Dell. I can remember being obsessed with this book, but I worry it will turn out like my Wrinkle in Time experience…

island

8. Call of the Wild by Jack London. I feel like I owe my 7th grade teacher a reread of this classic. In typical 12-year old fashion, my class became fixated on how one could possibly stay warm buried in snow. I have no recollection of any other topic of discussion on this book.

call of the wild

I think that’s it for me. I am not much of a rereader to begin with and my TBR list is full of new books that demand my attention!

Happy Reading!

~Megan

5 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-Books From My Younger Years That I Would Like to Revisit-3/24/15

  1. I LOVED Beatrix Potter when I was younger. I think I still have all the books somewhere.

  2. I had Leo the Lop! I forgot all about those books… The Beatrix Potter titles were also staples in my house when my sister and I were growing up, although I don’t think we actually owned that many ourselves. We borrowed them from the library on a regular basis, though!

  3. I loved Island of the Blue Dolphins too!! actually I think I read quite a few Scott O’Dell books, but I can’t remembe the titles for the life of me. *facepalm* Something about a Moon too? ANYWAY. Great memories. xD
    Here’s my TTT!

  4. White Fang was always my favorite when I was younger. I have a huge thing for wolves and would kill to have it in a pretty hard cover! I also adored Peter Rabbit when I was little. I really liked your choices =)

  5. “Charlotte’s Web”? (lol)

Leave a Reply

