Mondays with Megan-Countdown to Baseball Season! 3/30/15

Ok, so it’s not much of a countdown since the season opener for the Cleveland Indians is Wednesday, April 1. That’s just 2 more sleeps my friends. I know some fans are worried about a jinx, but you guys, Sports Illustrated predicts that the Tribe will win the World Series this year!! I say forget about a jinx and enjoy some baseball. Besides, how can you not love this cover? Just look at the joy on Brantley’s face! It’s spring. It’s time to play ball.

unknownOk, on to some books.

mondayreading new monday

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is hosted by Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts.

Finished:

under a painted law of the desert those who wish me dead last anniversary harry emerald city of oz rosie effect

  • Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee-♥♥♥♥♥-Set on the Oregon Trail in 1849, this is the story of two teenaged girls, disguised as boys, trying to outrun their troubles. I will have a better review up this week. I loved this one!
  • Law of the Desert Born: a Graphic Novel by Louis L’Amour-♥♥♥♥-My western themed reading last week was intentional and surprisingly enjoyable. This graphic adaptation of a short story is beautifully drawn. I am going to be honest, I really enjoyed all the horses!
  • Those Who Wish Me Dead by Michael Koryta-♥♥♥♥-After witnessing a murder thirteen-year-old Jace is put in protective custody. His handler arranges for him to go off the grid, deep in the Rocky Mountains with a survival group. Hmm, modern western? Anyway, is pursuers are relentless and the chase is on. This is my third 2015 Alex Award winner and it was a twisty-turny thriller.
  • The Last Anniversary by Liane Moriarty-♥♥♥♥-Slower paced and not as suspenseful as her other books, but I found it enjoyable nonetheless.
  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling-♥♥♥♥♥-This is my third time reading this book. This time I shared the experience with my nephews.
  • Oz: The Emerald City of Oz by L. Frank Baum-♥♥♥♥♥-I believe this is the final book in the graphic adaptation series by Eric Shanower. I cannot express enough how gorgeous these books are and how badly I want to own them, but I am afraid that if I did I would cut the pages up to frame. Sigh.
  • The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion-♥♥♥♥-This sequel to The Rosie Project was not quite as charming as the first, but still a fun listen.

Current Audio:

she got up wolf

  • She Got Up Off the Couch by Haven Kimmel. I am loving this one. Just as quirky and hilarious as A Girl Named Zippy.
  • Wolf in White Van by John Darnielle. This is another 2015 Alex winner. It’s not my favorite, but I am interested to see where things go and I already know which teens I am going to recommend it to, so all-in-all, a worthwhile endeavor.

Currently Reading:

kingdom of the wicked wizard north 40

Currently Watching:

BSG_Season_1_DVD birdman

I am enjoying Battlestar Galactica and four seasons will keep me busy for a while, especially now that I will be occupied with baseball soon! Birdman was strange. That’s really all I’ve got. Strange.

Happy Reading!

~Megan

4 responses to “Mondays with Megan-Countdown to Baseball Season! 3/30/15

  1. I can’t wait for baseball season!! I don’t have cable, but I try to catch a game here and there wherever I can!

    As a gamer, I was hoping to enjoy Wolf in White Van way more than I actually did. Turns out, I really didn’t like it. Unfortunate!

  2. I’m delighted to hear that even Louis L”Amour has been “graphiced.” Those of my family who consider him a guilty pleasure will be tickled by this. I’ve only seen the first in the Oz collection though. I’ll have to keep my eyes open for it.

  3. I’ll have to check out some of these books myself 🙂

  4. That’s a WHOLE LOT of reading indeed. I’ve been looking forward to starting my Skulduggery Pleasant series.

Leave a Reply

