Top Ten Tuesday-Inspiring Book Quotes-4/14/15

toptentuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is about inspiration that can found in our favorite books. I am not one to jot down favorite quotes, so this is a challenge for me.

1. “I knew not to give the best of myself to the worst of people.”
A.S. King, Please Ignore Vera Dietz

please ignore vera dietz

2. “People die, I think, but your relationship with them doesn’t. It continues and is ever-changing.”
Jandy Nelson, I’ll Give You the Sun

i'll give you the sun

3. “Sometimes people are beautiful.
Not in looks.
Not in what they say.
Just in what they are.”
Markus Zusak, I Am the Messenger

i am the messenger

4. “Embrace your inner lunatic. Fun times guaranteed.”
Derek Landy, Death Bringer

death bringer

5. “Happiness is a risk. If you’re not a little scared, then you’re not doing it right.”
Sarah Addison Allen, The Peach Keeper

peach keeper

6. “I will remember this word,” he said. “Shenanigans. It is a good word.”
John Flanagan, The Emperor of Nihon-Ja

emperor

7. “…looking up at the stars, he had accepted life as a medium for action. Something to wield like a tool. One’s own life: an instrument for the shaping of the world.”
Laini Taylor, Dreams of Gods & Monsters

dreams of gods and monsters

8. “And life goes on, which seems kind of strange and cruel when you’re watching someone die. But there’s a joy and an abundance of everything, like information and laughter and summer weather and so many stories.”
Melina Marchetta, On the Jellicoe Road

jellicoe road

9. “To be careful with people and with words was a rare and beautiful thing.”
Benjamin Alire Sáenz, Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

aristotle and dante

10. “People are who they are and, try as you might, you cannot make them be what you want them to be.”
Leila Sales, This Song Will Save Your Life

this song will save your life

Happy Reading!

~Megan

5 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-Inspiring Book Quotes-4/14/15

  1. I forgot how much I loved I am the Messenger, great quote from that! I posted here: https://lipsyy.wordpress.com/2015/04/14/top-ten-tuesday-favourite-book-quotes/

  2. Loved the ‘I’ll Give You the Sun’ quote. Great post!

  3. I love the Death Bringer one! These are some nice quotes.

  4. I’ll Give You the Sun, Jellicoe Road, and Aristotle and Dante are all books that I really want to read soon. Great quotes!

  5. I’ll Give You the Sun had so many amazing quotes!
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

Leave a Reply

