Mondays with Megan-Too Tired to Be Clever-5/11/15

Happy Monday *yawn* *stretch* *sigh*. What a busy weekend! Friday I went to a baseball game, Saturday I took myself to the Cleveland Flea, and yesterday I spent the day at my aunt’s house on the beach. Lake Erie was freezing, but calm and clear!

The school year is coming to an end and it’s time to start focusing on summer reading. We’ll be doing something new this year and I am super excited to tell you all about it soon. Also, I love shopping for prizes!

it's monday

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is hosted by Book Journey (she’s on hiatus right now) and Teach Mentor Texts.

I finally finished a few things that I had been working on for a while!

Finished:

soppy dissing everything i never spellmans mortal heart jetpack odd thomas

  • Soppy: a Love Story by Phillipa Rice-♥♥♥♥♥-This graphic novel is simply a collection of moments from the author’s relationship with her boyfriend. Sweet, funny, charming. I loved it.
  • Are You Dissing Me? What Animals Really Think by Simon Winheld-♥♥♥-All of the illustrations are amazing, but some of the inner thoughts miss the mark. The ones that work are very funny!
  • Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng-♥♥♥♥-This 2015 Alex Award winner is about the secrets we all keep. Lydia, the favored daughter of a mixed-race family living in Ohio in the 1970s, disappears and is later found dead. As each member of her family copes with the news, they must confront their secrets.
  • The Spellman Files by Lisa Lutz-♥♥♥♥♥-On a whim, I decided to reread an old favorite. The Spellmans are my favorite dysfunctional family of private investigators!
  • Mortal Heart by Robin LaFevers-♥♥♥♥♥-The final book in the His Fair Assassins series was full of surprises! Annith has lived her entire life at the convent, but when she learns she is being groomed to be a Seeress, she knows she has to act fast and prove herself worthy of going out on missions like her friends Sybella and Ismae. This was a fantastic ending to a fantastic trilogy. I will miss these ladies!
  • You’re All Just Jealous of My Jetpack by Tom Gauld-♥♥♥♥-This collection of cartoons written for The Guardian was my introduction to Tom Gauld. Dark, dry wit, clever literary themes, and random oddness combine with simple and often times strange illustrations. I will be going back to the shelves for more Gauld.
  • Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz-♥♥♥♥-Odd Thomas (that’s really his name) can see dead people. Sometimes a gift, often a curse, life is never dull in Pico Mundo! This was a fun start to what promises to be an interesting series.

Current Audio:

simon cure for dreaming

I am going to be finished with both of these today. I am not sure what’s on deck. Possibly these:

me before you one kick

Currently Reading:

messenger of fear dead girls of hysteria hall displacement

Currently Watching:

extras1  unbreakable

I actually finished Extras. It’s quite hilarious and the dvd extras are brilliant. I finally added Netflix to my life so I am enjoying Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt.

Happy Reading!

~Megan

2 responses to “Mondays with Megan-Too Tired to Be Clever-5/11/15

  1. I loved the first book in His Fair Assassins series but haven’t kept up with it. It looks like I have some reading to do over the summer!

  2. I’m always amazed by the overwhelming number of books you have going on here. Everything I Never Told You in particular caught my eye – it sounds like my kind of read. Dean Koontz used to be my absolute favourite – loved his horror stories, will have to find his new ones to see whether they would still resonate with me.

Leave a Reply

