Top Ten Authors I Want to Meet 5/12/15

toptentuesdayThis week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is all about that often elusive but always thrilling event-the author meeting! I have been so fortunate to meet many of my favorite authors, especially considering the fact that authors seem to avoid Cleveland like the plague. It’s all Columbus and Cincinnati, blah, blah, blah. Where’s the love for the 216?!? I have had to do a ton of driving to meet authors. I even drove to Michigan to meet Scott Westerfeld. Totally worth it. While I have checked some big names off my list (Cassandra Clare, Holly Black, Libba Bray, Michael Grant, John Flanagan, and Carrie Ryan to name a few), there are still tons more who I would love to meet.

1. A.S. King. She is top in my list for a reason. She’s my favorite. I love what she has to say and would drive to Michigan if I had to in order to meet her.

king

dust please ignore vera dietz everybody sees the ants ask reality boy glory o'brien

2. Liani Taylor. I want more! I love the world of her Daughter of Smoke and Bone series.

taylor

daughter of smoke days of blood dreams of gods and monsters

3. Markus Zusak. While the rest of the world obsesses over The Book Thief (which I really did love), I quietly sit by and reread I am the Messenger.

zusak

book thief messenger

4. Ally Carter. I really want to be a Gallagher Girl. So bad.

Ally-Carter-2015

gallagher girls heistsociety All Fall Down

5. J.K. Rowling. No brainer.

rowling

harry potter harry box

6. Rick Riordan. Another no brainer.

riordan

percy red pyramid lost hero

7. Cat Winters. Cat Winters writes historical fiction that I want to read!

winters

shadow of the blackbirds cure for dreaming

8. Marissa Meyer. Oh, goodness. I love this woman’s twisted tales.

meyer

cinder scarlet cress fairest

9. Derek Landy. Skulduggery Pleasant is my newest obsession. And he has a new trilogy coming out. Please hurry and set a U.S. release date!

landy

skulduggery DemonRoadFINAL

10. Robin LaFevers. Medieval French assassin nuns. That’s more historical fiction I can get into!

lafevers

grave mercy dark triumph mortal heart

Bonus: Adult Authors

stephen_king-coming-to-boulder  tana french rainbow lisa lutz

              Stephen King                Tana French       Rainbow Rowell          Lisa Lutz

Happy Reading!

~Megan

5 responses to “Top Ten Authors I Want to Meet 5/12/15

  1. I’d love to meet Ally Carter too! I bet Rick Riordan is a lot of fun to listen to as well. Great list!

  2. Rick Riordan is one of my favorites. He didn’t make my list, though, because I didn’t want to do more than 10. LOL! Great list!

  3. We share Taylor, Rowling, and Meyer, but I wouldn’t say no to meeting anyone on this list!

    Check out my TTT.

  4. I love that you included book covers — I’ve been having such a hard time placing some of the authors people listed with the books they wrote, this was really helpful! Rainbow Rowell and JK Rowling made my list too, but I didn’t even consider people like Stephen King or Rick Riordan — they would be really fun to meet too!

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday-Favorite Top Ten Tuesday Topics-6/23/15 | YA? Why Not?

Leave a Reply

