Mondays With Megan-Summer is almost here, but fall is on my mind! 5/18/15

Happy Monday! For those of you counting, there are only 13 school days left before summer vacation! I am almost finished assembling this year’s summer reading prize baskets and I must say, they are pretty interesting this year. I am quite pleased with my breakfast themed basket (thanks to a book club student for the suggestion). I will have all the details for each basket available soon, but for now I can tell you that each one has a $10 gift card of some kind, candy, and books. Some have movies, a couple have t-shirts, one has s’mores fixings, and another has foam ninja swords. So, yes, summer is on my mind too *but* I am already planning fall programs! The calendar is filling up fast and I am really excited about what we will be offering in September. Stay tuned!

new monday

Moving on to this week’s books. I am officially back in a reading slump! I am once again struggling with the printed word, but I doing a ton of listening.

Finished:

simon cure for dreaming displacement ask the dark alex

  • Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli-♥♥♥♥. Simon Spier is a not-out gay teenager. He has been exchanging emails with another student anonymously. When a fellow actor in the school musical discovers Simon’s secret he begins blackmailing him. Simon scrambles to protect the privacy of his new crush, “Blue” but can he do that without creating more drama and compromising himself? This book is fantastic! It’s a sweet and saucy romance with plenty of flirting and swearing.
  • The Cure for Dreaming by Cat Winters-♥♥♥♥-Olivia Mead is an independent and headstrong teen, and much to her father’s chagrin, she is becoming a suffragist. It is 1900 in Oregon and Olivia’s father hires a performing hypnotist to attempt to cure her of her rebellious nature by manipulating her mind. Instead, Henri makes her able to see the world as it really is. A chilling blend of history and the supernatural.
  • Displacement: a Travelogue by Lucy Knisley-♥♥♥♥♥-Bestselling cartoonist Knisley volunteers to accompany her grandparents on a cruise. Their failing physical and mental health challenges Knisley’s patience. The resulting document of their trip is equal parts travelogue and family history. Compassionate, touching, and a bit sad, this is a wonderful addition to the author’s graphic memoirs.
  • Ask the Dark by Henry Turner-♥♥♥-Billy Zeets has a reputation for being a bad kid. After his mother died he found himself in all sorts of trouble, but that was in the past. He has changed his ways and works hard to do the right thing and help his father. When Billy discovers evidence that may solve some recent kidnappings he is hesitant to speak of for fear he won’t be believed. This was not my favorite book of the week, but is was captivating and solid mystery.
  • Alex + Ada, vol. 1 by Sarah Vaughn-♥♥♥♥♥-When newly single Alex receives an android companion as a gift, his first instinct is to return it. However, he quickly learns that there is more to his new robot than meets the eye. This is a promising start to a new science fiction graphic novel series. I loved it and snatched up volume 2 in a hurry!

Currently Reading:

dead girls of hysteria hall what did you eat chamber

I am still reading an e-galley of The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall by Katie Alender. It really is great, I just don’t have a lot of time right now. I am also working through What Did You Eat Yesterday by Fumi Yoshinaga. It is a really interesting adult manga series. I am rereading Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets with my nephews. Other than that, I haven’t found a new book to hold my interest.

Current Audio:

missoula one kick

I am going to need something light and uplifting after both of these! They are both really good, but heavy material.

Currently Watching:

it crowd supernatural

I finished the first season of The IT Crowd and started season 9 of Supernatural! I want to binge this one, but I am rationing the episodes so the wait for season 10 on Netflix isn’t so long.

Happy Reading!

~Megan

2 responses to “Mondays With Megan-Summer is almost here, but fall is on my mind! 5/18/15

  1. Hope you get over your slump. I think I’m fed up with those gay kids get bullied books. I’m ready for them to just be normal characters dealing with the usual stuff kids deal with. I’ve been reading a bit about The Cure for Dreaming, all of it good, so I think I’ll have to try it out. I’m green with envy by the way, our school year goes to the end of June.!

  2. I’ve read about Displacement previously and I really am very intrigued. Will have to find that one. Would have been a perfect book to feature for our grey and golden reading theme previously.

Leave a Reply

