Mondays with Megan-Summer Reading Week 2! 6/15/15

Happy Summer Reading Week 2! We have picked our first prize winner and are ready to start collecting entries for the next gift basket. This week’s basket has one of my favorite creepy books, The Diviners by Libba Bray. You’ll want to read this one right away so you are ready for the sequel, The Lair of Dreams, when it comes out in August. You’ll also find tons of candy, portable speakers, water balloons, a $10 Mitchell’s gift card, and more! So get busy reading and don’t forget that you can enter your books online this year. I still have a handful of Chipotle cards left so if you haven’t signed up be sure to stop in or register online.

One more order of business. If you are having trouble finding copies of you required summer reading books be sure to check out our digital library collection. Just follow the link on the left hand side under Featured Collections. If you prefer a paper copy we can always do an Interlibrary Loan for you. It usually takes about a week to get a book sent here and requests can be made over the phone, in person or you can do it yourself from our catalog. Just look for the Search Ohio icon on the right side of the screen. Ok, summer reading plug over (for now).

Just a quick reminder that June is Audiobook month. Give your eyeballs a rest and let someone else do the reading for you. Check out a Book on CD, a Playaway, or download a book right to your phone or device! My favorites: The Daughter of Smoke and Bone series by Laini Taylor, the Bloody Jack series by L.A. Meyer, and the Leviathan trilogy by Scott Westerfeld.

June is also LGBT Pride Month. I am so excited to see how well shopped my book display has been so far this month. I am also thrilled to see how many books I have available to keep replenishing it! My favorites: Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz, I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson, and Winger by Andrew Smith.

June is also apparently the month when I *finally* emerged from major reading slump. I did not actually finish reading anything this week, but I have certainly enjoyed really focusing on a book.

new mondayIt’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Finished:

animal wise miss mayhem

  • Animal Wise: The Thoughts and Emotions of Our Fellow Creatures by Virginia Morell-♥♥♥♥. I really do enjoy animal nonfiction books! Science writer Virginia Morell explores just some of the research into animal cognition and emotions. Utterly fascinating.
  • Miss Mayhem by Rachel Hawkins-♥♥♥♥. This sequel to Rebel Belle does not disappoint. More paladin, oracle, and mage excitement, plus plenty of Southern charm!

Current Audio:

whites

I am almost done with The Whites and I don’t have another book on CD lined up! I also need to pick a new downloadable audiobook. Decisions, decisions.

Currently Reading:

last stand fixer very good lives

Currently Neglecting:

i crawl through it chamber of secrets

On Deck:

I need to read a mystery for our genre discussion! Any suggestions for a great new mystery? YA or Adult, I’m not picky!

Happy Summer Reading!

~Megan

5 responses to “Mondays with Megan-Summer Reading Week 2! 6/15/15

  1. msoreadsbookstx

    I ❤ mysteries! Especially period mysteries. Does that count? Like YS Lee's The Agency series. Or Elizabeth Peters' Amelia Peabody series. Or anything Anne Perry. Douglas Preston/Lincoln Child are my favorite adult writers but that might be more thriller than flat out mystery. Depends on the definition. And they are not period mysteries.

  2. How’s J.K. Rowling’s new book? So far I haven’t heard any feedback from it yet but I really want to try it 🙂

  3. I’ve just loaded up my computer with skullduggery audiobooks to listen to while I work on a quilt for my son’s wedding. I really have to get going on it so I need to have a lot of good listening ready. I like to read Kate Atkinson’s Jackson Brodie series.

  4. I just received a copy of I’ll give you the sun – so I truly am very excited to read it. I also have a copy of Winger and very intrigued with that one too – I am hoping I can get to chew on it in the coming weeks or so. 🙂

Leave a Reply

