Mondays with Megan-Summer Reading Week 2! 6/22/15

Happy Monday! Summer reading is in full swing and it’s so exciting. So far 146 teens have signed up (thank you, Chipotle!) and have read over 100 books. I have brought up another basket this morning and it’s a fun one. The credit for this one goes to one of my book club student. It’s a breakfast basket! If this one looks good to you all you have to do is read for a chance to win! Enter your books/magazines/graphic novels, etc. in the box at the AV Desk *or* online.

Basket #3

  • Books!
    • The Last Summer of the Death Warriors by Francisco X. Stork
    • Sure Sign of Crazy by Karen Harrington
  • Candy!
    • Haribo Sour S’ghetti
    • Spree
    • Reese’s Pieces
    • Blow Pops
    • Jolly Ranchers
  • Ferris Bueller’s Day Off DVD
  • Pop Tarts
  • Lucky Charms & Froot Loops
  • Nesquick
  • Mini football
  • 1 Cleveland Gladiators Ticket
  • Burt’s Bees lip balms
  • $10 Starbucks gift card

My own summer reading is also in full swing. I have finally gotten my mojo back! I am still getting tons of listening done (my dog and I have been enjoying spending hours at the beach) but I have also devoured a couple of print books this week too.

Mon Reading Button PB to YA

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Finished:

pirate hunters last stand my sunshine away devil you know very good lives

  • Pirate Hunters by Robert Kurson-♥♥♥♥♥. From the author of Shadow Divers comes another deep-sea diving adventure. Two divers risk it all to find The Golden Fleece, the ship of the infamous pirate John Bannister. Another compelling read!
  • The Last Stand of Dead Men by Derek Landy-♥♥♥♥♥. The penultimate book in the Skulduggery Pleasant series. Devastating betrayals, bloody battles, and quirky humor. Tension has built to a breaking point. I need the last book!
  • My Sunshine Away by M.O. Walsh-♥♥♥. An unnamed narrator tells the story of his childhood in Baton Rouge, focusing on the summer the that object of his affection, Lindy Simpson, was raped. Beautifully written coming of age.
  • The Devil You Know by Trish Doller-♥♥♥♥. Eighteen-year-old Arcadia is desperate for adventure and a spontaneous road trip with two gorgeous strangers seems like a good idea. When the trip takes a dangerous turn Cadie learns that one of the guys is not who he claims to be. Thrilling, sexy, and suspenseful. I read this in one sitting!
  • Very Good Lives by J.K. Rowling-♥♥♥♥♥. In 2008 J.K. Rowling gave the commencement speech at Harvard. This is that speech. According to Rowling, you don’t need magic to change the world. You only need imagination. Truly lovely and inspiring.

Current Audio:

vacationers finding audrey

Currently Reading:

fixer shutter circus mirandus

This week’s Netflix binge:

orange

This week’s podcasts:

undisclosed mystery show all the books mortified

Happy Summer Reading!

~Megan

4 responses to “Mondays with Megan-Summer Reading Week 2! 6/22/15

  1. msoreadsbookstx

    I need to catch up on Skulduggery because he’s fun. I keep looking at JK Rowling’s speech and thinking maybe I ought to get it. I’m also in the middle of Circus Mirandus. I am a fan of happy endings but I’m not sure yet if we’ll get one there or not. Or what would be most authentic. Will have to finish it and see!

  2. I’ve loaded up on Skullduggery audio’s for my summer house renovation and quilting frenzy. I also want to get time for Circus Mirandus.

  3. The J.K.Rowling book sounds like one I need to go get. I love summer reading and it sounds like it is in full swing at your library. Have a great reading week!

  4. I’m intrigued by Very Good Lives – I’m a sucker for inspirational speeches. 🙂 Love reading your Derek Landy reads here.

Leave a Reply

