Mondays with Megan-Summer Reading Week 7!-7/20/15

Happy Monday! We still have a couple more weeks of Summer Reading, so be sure to register and start reading. Don’t forget, you can register and submit entries online.

What’s in Basket # 7?

  • Books!
    • Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
    • Bad Girls Don’t Die by Katie Alender
  • Candy!
    • Skittles
    • Swedish Fish
    • Jolly Ranchers
    • Blow Pop/Tootsie Pop
    • GIANT TUBE OF NERDS!
  • Mini Oreos
  • Hair chalk
  • Selfie lens
  • X-Men DVD
  • Silly String
  • Goofy pen
  • 1 Cleveland Gladiators ticket
  • $10 Dollar Tree Gift Card

I bought myself a hammock this weekend! I can’t wait to finish my grueling yard projects so that I can finally chill in the hammock with a stack of books! In the meantime, I am still doing a bunch of listening while I garden.

new monday

Be sure to check out more It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? lists at Teach Mentor Texts!

Finished:

watchman isabel curse of the spellmans library

  • Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee-♥♥♥♥. Jean Louise Finch is a twenty-six year-old woman when she returns to her childhood home of Macomb, Alabama to visit her aging father, Atticus. It’s the 1950’s and civil rights issues are creating political and racial tensions throughout the South. It is during this trip that Jean Louise learns of the disturbing truth about her family. This book was never intended to be a To Kill a Mockingbird sequel, and thus, should not be read as one. I enjoyed Jean Louise’s memories of her childhood. I loved her uncle and I admired the grown Scout as she tried to come to terms with how reality did not match up with her memory.
  • Isabel Spellman’s Guide to Etiquette by Lisa Lutz-♥♥♥. Quirky Isabel Spellman offers her opinion on Etiquette. This was a cute e-book.
  • Curse of the Spellmans by Lisa Lutz-♥♥♥♥. This is the second book in the Spellman Files series. All the Spellmans are in crisis and keeping secrets and Isabel can’t seem to stop getting arrested. This was a reread for me and I enjoyed it as much as I did when I read it for the first time in 2008 (!).
  • The Library at Mount Char by Scott Hawkins-♥♥♥♥♥. Carolyn was a normal American girl until she and eleven other children were adopted by a man simply called Father, “adopted” them. The children were each assigned an area of study. Carolyn studies languages. All of the languages. Another studied war, another learned healing. None of the librarians, as they were called, were permitted to study any other collections. Much time has passed since they began their studies and Father is missing. Carolyn has the status of God in her sites and she has the tools to win. This book was nothing like what I was expecting and one it was certainly one of the weirdest things I have read! This contemporary fantasy may not be for everyone, but I loved this bizarre book!

Current Audio:

life armada

Currently Reading:

these shallow graves lists vengeance road

On Deck:

finders keepers six of crows

I am still working on the show The 4400 and enjoying a number of podcasts, including Mortified, Undisclosed, Strangers, Criminal, and All the Books!.

Happy Summer Reading!

~Megan

3 responses to “Mondays with Megan-Summer Reading Week 7!-7/20/15

  1. Hammock? Swedish fish? Sorry, couldn’t concentrate much after that, except that Katie Alender has a great new horror book out– The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall. You have a lot of variety in your reading this week!

  2. Wow – you’ve been reading a lot of interesting books. I also listen while I am gardening, and when I am walking, and when I am cleaning house…. Good luck getting the yard work under control so you can enjoy your hammock.

  3. The Library at Mount Char sounds like my kind of book – and the book cover is amazing to boot! You’ve read Go Set a Watchman! I hope to re-read How to Kill a Mockingbird before diving into that one.

Leave a Reply

