Mondays with Megan-Teen Think Tank #2 9/20/15

Last week I had the great privilege of attending my second Teen Think Tank conference. This is an amazing group of Ohio Teen Librarians who get together twice a year to talk about teen services. It’s a day of learning, connecting, sharing, and crafting and it is such a valuable resource. I am really excited to try some of the Gross Games I learned about with my teens. I was inspired to add some technology activities to my after school repertoire and I picked up a couple of great craft ideas. One of the most informative presentations was about serving LGBTQ+ teens. I think I have a pretty solid collection of materials but I learned of a few more that I need to add. I myself presented a segment on feed teens on a budget. Basically a griddle and instant pancake mix will turn you into a hero among the teens. I add mini chocolate chips, eliminating the need for syrup and silverware! I have also made cheese quesadillas and grilled cheese sandwiches on my griddle, all at a fraction of the cost of bags of chips and bottles of pop. In fact, I have completely eliminated sugary beverages from all my programs. It’s all water, all the time and NO ONE has complained! Try it; it can’t hurt!

IMWAYR 2015

 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Teach Mentor Texts. Be sure to stop over for more great reading suggestions!

Finished:

wrath 0061779784.01._SX142_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_ felicia day

  • The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh-♥♥♥♥♥. The land of Khorasan is ruled by a monster. The young king takes a new bride each night and each morning a silk rope is wrapped around her neck. Sharhzad, who lost her best friend to this man, is out for revenge. She volunteers to be his next wife with the intention of killing him herself. In order to exact her revenge she needs to survive past dawn, so she begins to tell him a story, always leaving the next part for another night. I loved this one! Lovely storytelling, a gorgeous setting, and diverse characters. I am looking forward to listening to the second book.
  • Secondhand Souls by Christopher Moore-♥♥♥♥♥. In this sequel to A Dirty Job, Moore picks up where he left off. The souls of San Fransisco are not being collected. The old crew is back in action with the help of a Golden Gate Bridge painter, who may be the key to figuring out who is stealing souls. Lewd, crude, and ridiculously funny. Not for the young reader, but I did just recommend the duology to one of my high school readers.
  • You’re Never Weird on the Internet (almost) by Felicia Day-♥♥♥♥♥. Felicia Day is known in many circles at the Queen of the Nerds. In her memoir she talks at length about her love of gaming, her internet show The Guild, and her health issues. She reads the audiobook and it is truly delightful. This is a must read for fan, but people not familiar with her work can still appreciate her insight.

Current Audio:

player of games hollow boy

  • Player of Games by Iain M. Banks. Occasionally I like to get recommendations from my teen readers. I have my book club kids write down two titles they think I should read and then I randomly select 1-2. This was my most recent pick. It’s super weird and the person who recommended it hasn’t read it himself. He just thought it would be something I like. At first I was teeny bit miffed (I thought you wanted me to read it so we could talk about it!) but then I realize I do that to them ALL THE TIME. Turnabout is fair play.
  • Lockwood & Co. 3: The Hollow Boy by Jonathan Stroud. This series is great on audio and it is almost the perfect time of year for them! Teenage ghost hunters!

Currently Reading: I have been in a MAJOR reading slump.

madness so discreet tonight

  • A Madness so Discreet by Mindy McGinnis. I have been reading this one forever. It’s really good and I am enjoying it, I just have no time for digital ARCs right now. I should stop requesting them for a while!
  • Tonight the Streets Are Ours by Leila Sales. I love this author, so I hope this book with help me with my reading mojo!

On Deck:

wonderful deathWhat an awesome way to start a Monday! This lovely book arrived in the mail for me! The cover blurb is by Mike Mullin, author of the Ashfall Trilogy (LOVED that series!) and he says it is “A snarky joyride of a book with a deep moral core; long after you’ve finished laughing you’ll still be thinking about RJ’s journey and perhaps asking yourself: what defines a life well lived?”

Um, yes, please!

Happy Reading!

~Megan

 

 

 

3 responses to “Mondays with Megan-Teen Think Tank #2 9/20/15

  1. Really glad to know Lockwood & Co is good on audio. I loved listening to Stroud’s Bartimaeus books, and have been really wanting to get to this new series!

  2. Ooh I’m curious to hear how “Its a wonderful death” turns out to be – sounds intriguing!

  3. So many great books to add to my TBR! I’ve been wanting to read Leila Sales’ This Song Will Save Your Life, and now she has another one?! I need to catch up!

Leave a Reply

