Mondays with Megan-Celebrate Your Right to Read! 9/28/15

bbw15

Happy Monday! It’s that time of year again, when we celebrate the right to read and reflect on the book that have been challenged and banned over the past year. According to the American Library Association’s Office For Intellectual Freedom the number one challenged book of 2014 was Sherman Alexie’s The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian. You can find the rest of the Top Ten most frequently challenged books here. For even more information about why books are challenged be sure to check out these charts.

As a librarian I respect everyone’s right to choose what is best for themselves. If you are offended by something, that is fine because you don’t have to read it! That’s your right and that is awesome. But please don’t try to tell other people they can’t either. How about you just worry about you? Ok? Thanks! Now, let me step off my soapbox and tell you what I have been reading.

mondays

 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is hosted by Teach Mentor Texts. Be sure to stop by for more great reading suggestions.

Finished:

madness so discreet wonderful death

  • A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis-♥♥♥♥. Grace Mae is banished to an insane asylum when her family discovers she is pregnant. The events that led to her being in this condition were unspeakable, and therefore, Grace stopped speaking. Her silence became her salvation and with the help of a doctor she escaped to Ohio. She and the doctor worked together to prove that the new idea of criminal psychology could help solve crimes. This haunting historical fiction has some great twists and turn. I loved the characters, especially the girls at the Ohio asylum. Watch for this new book from local Ohio author when it comes out October 6th!
  • It’s a Wonderful Death by Sarah J. Schmitt-♥♥♥♥. RJ wasn’t supposed to die that day, but when her soul is accidentally collected all hell breaks loose, so to speak, in the Afterlife. RJ demands to be sent back to life, but it’s not as simple as that. I will have a full review of this up soon! It’s a quick, fun read full of plenty of things to think about. Stay tuned. Or just trust me know, and add it to your reading list.

Current Audio:

wee free hollow boy

I will be finished with both of these books in the next couple of days. I really like them both.

Currently Reading:

tonight illuminae

I am six books behind on my reading goal. I need to step up my games!

On Deck:

martian stand off hero of ages

The Martian is “assigned” reading from a book club teen. I can’t wait to dig in to Stand Off and The Hero of Ages.

DNF:

player of games

I tried. I really tried.

TV binging:

mindy

…and this is why my reading is suffering! It’s time to grab a stack of graphic novels and binge on those!

Happy Reading!

~Megan

4 responses to “Mondays with Megan-Celebrate Your Right to Read! 9/28/15

  1. I am listening to the Hollow Boy as well! Slowly but surely. For as much time as I spend in the car I should be finishing it faster! I liked the narrator of the first one best but I’m not really far enough into this one to say for sure.

  2. Both A Madness So Discreet and It’s a Wonderful Death sound good. Enjoy your reading this week!

  3. There really is just something so powerful with Absolutely True Diary of a Part-time Indian – I think I’ve read the novel twice – it’s just that good! And I very rarely re-read books. Is Stand Off a sequel to Winger?

Leave a Reply

