Mondays with Megan-It’s Monday! What Are You

Happy Monday! I spent all of last week in lovely Cincinnati, Ohio attending the Ohio Library Council Conference and Expo. I am still trying to digest all the great information I picked up…and catch up on all the normal stuff I missed here at the library, so this check in will be short and sweet. I read some books. I listened to some books. I binged all of The Mindy Project. I am excited Supernatural season 10 dropped on Netflix. My friend got to meet Rainbow Rowell and she got me a signed copy of Carry On! That’s a pretty good week, if you ask me!

mondays

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is hosted by Teach Mentor Texts.

Finished:

1250042151.01._SX142_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_ stand off alex0399160302.01._SX142_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

  • Alias Hook by Lisa Jensen-♥♥♥♥. This is a reimagining of the Peter Pan story, told from Hook’s point of view. Forget everything you thought knew about Neverland and Peter’s band of Lost Boys! This is a magical and fantastical adventure!
  • Stand Off  by Andrew Smith-♥♥♥♥. This sequel to Winger starts with a new school year, Ryan Dean West’s senior year. In addition to having a claustrophobic 12-year old as a roommate, Ryan Dean struggles with the emotional aftermath of losing his best friend. This book did not engage me in the way Winger did, but I am not the target audience. Ryan Dean has an amazing teen voice and coping with anxiety is an important topic. A welcomed sequel.
  • Alex + Ada, vol. 3 by Sarah Vaughn-♥♥♥♥. The story arc that began with volumes 1 and 2 comes to a surprising conclusion. Fear and hatred of sentient robots is rising and Alex and Ada are in increasing danger. The events in this volume took me by surprise and I am intrigued to see where the story goes.
  • Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys-♥♥♥♥♥. As WWII draws to an end thousands of refugees look to escape East Prussia. The luxury ship Wilhelm Gustloff offers the promise of freedom. Among the refugees are Florian, Emilia, and Joana are among the crowd. They are all strangers and they all have secrets, but working together they may survive. This book is due out in February and you will want to grab it up the second you see it. Ruta Septys delivers another devastating work of historical fiction. Powerful and heartbreaking, she once again brings light to lesser known atrocities of WWII.

Current Audio:

martian

I am almost finished with The Martian and I am currently between audiobooks on my phone. I can’t decide what I am in mood for right now.

Currently Reading:

This rarely happens, but today I get to pick all new books to read! I need to pick a print book and an e-book. I have so many choices my head is spinning! I think I am going to start with these:

sword of summer revenge

Happy Reading!

~Megan

2 responses to “Mondays with Megan-It’s Monday! What Are You

  1. I listened to Martian as an audiobook as well and loved it. I doubt I will read Stand Off, because Winger wasn’t one of my favorites. I agree with you though, Andrew Smith sure gets inside the mind of adolescent boys. (at least I think he does given that I am not, and never have been one) I’m waiting patiently for Salt to the Sea to be published next year…

  2. I haven’t read any of Ruta Sepetys’ novel yet, but I’ve been reading so many great things about them, this one in particular. I am excited to see a sequel for Winger (which I haven’t even read yet – but I love Andrew Smith, so there’s that). 🙂

Leave a Reply

