Mondays with Megan-Mockingjay, Part 2-11/23/15

Happy Monday! I had a weekend full of films and fun. On Saturday my brother and nephew came over and we watched Star Wars Episode 1: Phantom Menace. We are working our way through the series to prepare for the new release in December. Despite having seen Episodes 4-6 many times, I have never seen 1-3. Yesterday I saw Mockingjay Part 2 with my sister and her boyfriend’s thirteen-year-old daughter. I really love Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss and very much enjoyed the final movie. The thirteen-year-old also liked it, but could not get over the fact that a stranger would give their baby to Katniss. So of course I had to do some research! The babies at the end of the movie are Jennifer Lawrence’s nephews. Seeing the film series end kind of made me want to reread the books. We’ll see!

mondays

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is brought to you by Teach Mentor Texts.

Finished: In the two weeks since I last wrote a Monday post I have accomplished so little that I can actually easily include all of my finished books here.

bizaar wytches straw king career of evil azkaban string diaries

  • Bazaar of Bad Dreams by Stephen King-♥♥♥♥. This collection of short stories features both brand new and previously published works. As with most collections of stories some shine and some are merely fine. The real treat here is that the author introduces each story and explains how or why he came to write it.
  • Wytches by Scott Snyder-♥♥♥♥. You thought you knew everything about witches? Forget what Disney has to say, these crones are terrifying! The evil lurks just under the surface and watches through the trees. This was a fantastic opening volume and the art work is simply stunning. Over and over I marveled at how intriguing and gorgeous the hideous images were.
  • The Straw King (Dorothy Must Die #0.5) by Danielle Page-♥♥♥♥. In this fifth prequel novella readers learn more about the Scarecrow. All he ever wanted was a brain, but he soon discovers that knowledge may not be enough to protect his throne from an invading army. Another fun addition to the Dorothy Must Die family.
  • Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith-♥♥♥♥♥. The third book in the Cormoran Strike series is now my favorite. Someone from Cormoran’s past is targeting Robin and the agency, driving away business and putting both PIs in danger. Can Cormoran figure out who it is before it’s too late?
  • The Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling-♥♥♥♥♥. Still a favorite, 5-star read. I am loving rereading these books while my nephews discover them for the first time. On to Goblet of Fire!
  • The String Diaries by Stephen Lloyd Jones-♥♥♥♥♥. Hannah and her family are on the run from a centuries old monster; a Hungarian shapeshifter bent on revenge. Told from three points of view, the story unravels at a break-neck pace, sucking readers in and constantly confusing them with the monster’s identity. This is the first book in ages that has kept me up long past bedtime! Absolutely loved it!

Current Audio:

fate of ten 14

  • The Fate of Ten by Pittacus Lore. Admittedly this is not the best series ever written, but I kind of need to know how things end. Also, they are just kind of fun!
  • 14 by Peter Clines. I am still not sure why I requested this one from another library, but so far, I am glad I did. It’s like The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson (minus angry spirits) meets Lost and then gets turned into an episode of Scooby Doo. Again, quite fun.

Currently Reading:

goblet of fire winter passenger

Happy Reading!

~Megan

3 responses to “Mondays with Megan-Mockingjay, Part 2-11/23/15

  1. How fun to be re-reading Harry Potter with your nephews. I imagine a whole generation starting and loving them, and also later, the Hunger Games trilogy. It was exciting to start reading both these series. I’m looking forward to that final movie. I’ll look for The String Diaries, too. Thanks!

  2. As I read your comments about Wytches, I couldn’t help but think of Terry Pratchett’s witches from his discworld series. Have you read any of them? His witches are not terrifying in the way these ones you have written about. I am especially a fan of the Tiffany Aching mini series but any of his novels about witches are bodacious. If you want to know more about them, I blogged about them a while ago. Here is the link my post about Tiffany http://dickenslibrary.blogspot.ca/2012/03/tiffany-aching-collection-by-terry.html
    Happy reading this week.

  3. I have yet to start reading the Pittacus Lore series – I think I have the first two novels, but that’s about it. Will wait until I get my own copy of the entire series. Hmm.. interesting thoughts about Wytches – will have to be on the lookout for that particular title!

Leave a Reply

