Category Archives: Read Alikes

What I’m Reading Now: American Street by Ibi Zoboi

american-street

Fabiola Toussant and her mother leave Haiti to start a new life in Detroit with her aunt and cousins. When her mother is detained by U.S. Immigration Fabiola must rely on her loud American cousins to help her navigate this new world.

Fabiola and her mother had dreamed of finding une belle vie, a good life, and the corner of American and Joy Streets on Detroit’s West side. In many ways Detroit is nothing like Haiti. The weather, food, the customs are all different. However, the dangerous, gritty side of life in Detroit is similar to that of Port-au-Prince and Fabiola’s cousins are caught up in it. When an opportunity to help her mother is presented to her, Fabiola must make a tough decision. Is she willing to pay the high cost of the American Dream?

I am about half way through the audio version of this book and I am hooked. I love the juxtaposition of traditional Haitian Vodou beliefs and rituals with a contemporary American setting. This story is very much character driven and the characters are fantastic!

You might also like Shadowshaper by Daniel José Older and In Darkness by Nick Lake.

Happy Reading!

~Megan

 

 

Advertisements

It’s a Wonderful Death by Sarah J. Schmitt 10/1/15

death

It’s a Wonderful Death by Sarah J. Schmitt
October 6, 2015
Sky Pony Press
Hardcover, 320 pages

What it’s about:

Seventeen-year-old RJ is at the top of her game. She is the Queen Bee and used to getting her way, even if she has to bully others to get it. So imagine her fury when a Grim Reaper accidentally collects her soul! She refuses to believe she is dead and her protests and tantrums  cause quite the problem in the Afterlife. Everyone agrees that a mistake has been made, but no one can agree on how to set things right. A special tribunal is called composed of three angels, including one who has his eye on Death Himself’s job. Now RJ has a choice. She can wait in limbo until her regularly scheduled death or she can relive three moments in her life. Each do-over is an opportunity to prove that she has a future worth saving. She obviously chooses door number 2. How hard can it be? Especially since she will have three souls to guide her through each of her tasks. The reality is, it is so hard! Will RJ succeed in her quest for mortality? Will it even be worth it? And what is the deal with Saint Peter’s cornhole obsession?

Why you might like it:

Do you love a strong-willed, snarky bully who’s been brought down a notch? RJ is your girl! She is seemingly beyond redemption and it’s kind of a little satisfying to watch her squirm as she relives three of her lowest moments on earth. But hey! We’re not mean girls, so it’s also pretty awesome so watch RJ’s journey. Maybe she isn’t so bad after all. Everyone makes mistakes, right? Are you looking for a laugh? Death Himself, a Hawaiian shirt wearing surfer is pretty funny. But wait! There’s more! Are you looking for a thought-provoking, feel-good story? Look no further than It’s a Wonderful Death. The message is clear: you matter, even if you don’t know it and it’s never to late to think about the choices you make.

Want more like this? Try these:

Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin, Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver, and If I Stay by Gayle Forman.

Happy Reading!

~Megan

P.S. Thanks to Sky Pony Press for a copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Top Ten Tuesday-Like This? Try These!-9/29/15

toptentuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is all about read alikes for popular books and authors.

If you like John Green try these for all the feels:

eleanor please ignore vera dietz if i stay everything everything

If you like Ally Carter try these snarky, sassy heroines:

naturals also known as

If you like James Dashner try these awesome science fiction books:

steelheart armada lock in

If you like John Flanagan try these:

mister monday grave mercy warrior heir

If you miss Harry Potter try these magical books:

skulduggery white cat last dragonslayer

If you like Anna Dressed in Blood try these ghost stories:

lockwood dead girls of hysteria hall name of the star

If you like Cassandra Clare try these gorgeous fantasies:

raven boys daughter shadow and bone

If you like Cinder try these retellings:

dorothy wrath stork

If you like Sarah Dessen try these:

this song will save your life i'll give you the sun my life

If you like The Hunger Games try these survival stories:

ashfall2 ship breaker blood red road

Happy Reading!

~Megan

 

 

 

 

Bingo’s Run by James A. Levine Review (or My Further Adventures With the Alex Awards)

bingo's run

Bingo’s Run by James A. Levine
January 7, 2014
Spiegel & Grau
Hardcover, 304 pgs
2015 Alex Award Winner

What it’s about:

Bingo is a 15-year old orphan in Nairobi. He’s a grifter, a survivor, and the slum’s greatest drug runner. His days are spent running the “white,” hanging out with his friend Slo-George, and trying to stay out of trouble. But in the drug business, trouble is always just around the corner. After witnessing a murder Bingo is sent to an orphanage for protection. Here he learns even more about corruption, hustling and running.

Why you might like it:

You might enjoy Bingo’s Run because it is a gripping portrayal of life in an impoverished African city. Despite Bingo’s flaws and the hardships he endures, the story is full of mythology, humor and hope. A fascinating read.

Want more like it?

Try Cutting For Stone by Abraham Verghese or Little Bee by Chris Cleave

Lock In by John Scalzi Review (or My Adventures with the 2015 Alex Awards) 4/9/15

lock in

Lock In by John Scalzi
August 26, 2014
Tor Books
Hardcover, 336 pgs.
2015 Alex Award Winner

What it’s about:

In the near future a virus sweeps through the world population. For a small percentage the result of the disease is a condition known as lock in. They are fully awake and aware, but unable to move their bodies. With 1.7 million Americans affected, new medical technologies emerge, including systems that allow the locked in, also known as Hadens, to use the bodies of the healthy. Things get really tricky when an Integrator is found at the scene of a murder.Who is the guilty party? The Haden who is using the body of the Integrator or the Integrator who’s body did the killing?

Why you might like it:

You might like it because it is an engrossing and thought-provoking science fiction read. Lock In offers a disturbing look at humanity, medical ethics, political corruption, and technology. And there are robots. So far, this is  my favorite of this year’s winners.

Want more like this?

Try Ready Player One by Ernest Cline or Eye of the Mind by James Dashner.

Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee Review 4/1/15

under a painted
Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee
March 17, 2015
G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
Hardcover, 374 pgs.

What it’s about:

The year is 1848. The tiny frontier town is St. Joe, Missouri. Samantha’s greatest desire is to return to New York and pursue her music career, but when tragedy strikes she has no choice but to flee into the wild west. Her only companion is Annamae, a slave with plans to escape to freedom. The Oregon Trail is no place for two girls, but it’s even more dangerous for a Chinese girl and a runaway slave so they disguise themselves as boys, and attempt to outrun their troubles.

Why you might like it:

Lee’s stunning debut is a welcome addition to the historical fiction genre. This survival story is full of adventure and wild west action, but at its core is a moving story of trust and friendship. Plus, there are cowboys and horses and a little romance! I almost forgot all the Chinese zodiac mythology woven throughout. Take a close look at the gorgeous cover and you will see the snake, the rabbit, and the dragon.

 Want more like this?

For more tales of a girl disguised as a boy try the Bloody Jack series by L.A. Meyer. For another historical fiction story that focuses on female friendship try Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein.

Top Ten Tuesday-Ten Books For Fans of Supernatural-3/10/15

toptentuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday hosted by The Broke and the Bookish is so open-ended it’s practically a freebie! The topic is the top ten books for people who like X. Solve for X. Since by current television obsession continues to be Supernatural, X=Supernatural.

dean readsDean doesn’t seem to thrilled with his book. Maybe he would prefer one of these:

1. Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy. A skeleton detective, ancient gods, necromancers, and all sorts of magic.

skulduggery

2. The Diviners by Libba Bray. Occult murders, flappers, and a really, really creepy house.

diviners

3. The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson. The ghost of Jack the Ripper once again torments London.

name of the star

4. Evil Librarian by Michele Knudsen. Two words: Demon librarian.

evil librarian

5. Texas Gothic by Rosemary Clement-Moore. A family of witches, occult happenings, ghosts, and mischievous goats. For the fans who enjoy the humorous side of the Winchesters!

texas gothic

6. The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan. The unconsecrated, the walking dead, the living dead, call them what you want, a zombie is a zombie!

forest of hands and teeth

7. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. Shadowhunters/Demon hunters. Same dif.

city of bones

8. Gone by Michael Grant. All sorts of messed-up monster action going on here!

gone

9. White Cat by Holly Black. Magic, curses, mobsters!

white cat

10. Daughter of Smoke and Bone. Angels, demons, monsters.

daughter of smoke

Bonus:

hush hush screaming

Happy Reading!

~Megan