Duct Tape Fun

Round two of winter storms struck the area last night, but that did not deter a group of awesome teens from braving the elements to make duct tape crafts at the library last night. I am so pleased to report that everyone who signed up actually showed up. I could not have done it without help from a coworker’s daughter. Thank you Peggy for loaning me your clever crafter for the evening!

I had originally intended to demonstrate how to make simple things like wallets and bookmarks out of duct tape, but my crafty assistant assured me that so much more was possible. She was right! Some funky wallets were made, but they also turned out some pretty cool purses, bags and even a hat and a mask. Check it out:

See? Totally fun!  For some duct tape craft ideas check out Ductigami: the Art of the Tape by Joe Wilson or Stick It! 99 D.Y.I. Duct Tape Projects by T.L. Bonaddio. Or, do like these guys and use your imagination!

Next up, video games on Tuesday January 18th. Looking ahead to February there is still room in the Sweet Treats program February 2nd. That one requires registration because I need to know how much chocolate to buy! Call the library if you are interested in signing up. I also have a couple of copies of the February book club book available. We are reading and discussing Double Identity by Margaret Peterson Haddix in preparation for her March visit to Rocky River. Come by the reference desk to pick up a book.

Check back here tomorrow for a review of Five Flavors of Dumb by Antony John. In the meantime, stay warm and Happy Reading!

˜Megan

Leave a comment