Top Ten Tueday-Beach Reads

This week The Broke and The Bookish are asking for beach reads. I am told that sun, sand, surf, a fruity beverage with a paper umbrella, and a good book are an ideal way to spend a summer day. I am all for good books and fruity drinks, but I can do without sand. However, I recently learned that baby powder removes sand. If that does the trick, I may be able to rethink my position on sand! Anyway. Beach reads.

Here’s the deal: a handful of books are going to be on everyone’s lists. They should be; they are awesome, perfect summer reads. I have read them. I love them. I wholeheartedly recommend them as beach reads. You know the ones I am talking about. The Summer series by Jenny Han, Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson, Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins, Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles, anything Sarah Dessen or Cassandra Clare. These books get all the love. They don’t need my help. I am here to remind you of the other awesome books that are forced to live in the shadows of these giants.

1. Megan Meade’s Guide to the McGowan Boys by Kate Brian. Megan is an Army brat, tired of moving around. When her parents go overseas she stays with family friends,the McGowans. Overnight she goes from an only child to the only girl among 7 brothers!

2. Past Perfect by Leila Sales. Chelsea starts the summer before senior year nursing a broken heart and working at a historical reenactment community. There is another camp across the road and there is an ongoing rivalry. Is it true what they say about all being fair in love and war?

3. Wanderlove by Kristen Hubbard. Bria takes her broken heart to Central America where she meets a group of young travelers, ditches her tour group, and crams a whole lot of living into a few short weeks.

4. Enthusiasm by Polly Shulman. Jane Austen meets Shakespeare meets Glee. Enough said.

5. Into the Wild Nerd Yonder by Julie Halpern. When Jessie’s best friend goes punk and makes a move on Jessie’s long-time crush, she decides to make some changes herself. Embracing her inner nerd, Jessie finds some new, true friends.

What about the guys? Easy-peasey!

6. Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld. Steampunk, alternate reality WWI story. Full of awesome gadgets and curious beasties. Guys will love this one.

7. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness. There are no secrets in Prentisstown, a town full of men afflicted with the Noise. Everyone’s thoughts are public. Todd is a boy on the brink of manhood and will soon learn the terrible secret about his town.

8. Carter Finally Gets It by Brent Crawford. William Carter, has ADD,  a stutter, and is totally clueless when it comes to girls. He is doomed when high school starts! A hilarious stream of consciousness account of the average guy headed to high school.

9.  Pop by Gordon Korman. Sixteen-year old QB Marcus Jordan befriends an aging NFL legend after a mid-summer move to a new town.

10. Erebos by Ursula Poznanski. I haven’t read this yet, but I have it on good authority that is an amazing must read (my coworker’s fifteen-year old son is my test reader and he devoured it and wants more. That’s good enough for me!).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 responses to “Top Ten Tueday-Beach Reads

  1. #3 is so in my list ….
    thx for the other suggestions as well…
    Summer has come ….

  2. I love love love your Top Ten! I haven’t read any of them but I am adding them all to my TBR list. They sound so good!

    Here is my Top Ten.

  3. there it is again, wonderlove! I really want to read it now!
    My TTT; http://booknookgirl.blogspot.com/2012/06/top-ten-tuesday-beach-reads.html

  4. Yay for another person who put WANDERLOVE on their list! Also, PAST PERFECT is soooo cute! I almost put it on my list. 🙂

  5. i didnt realize wanderlove was so popular. i definitely have to bump it up on my TBR list.

  6. I am not letting this summer go by without reading The Knife of Never Letting Go!!! Awesome list 🙂

  7. Great list!! I loved Wanderlove!

  8. I Loved Past Perfect but was disappointed that the cover didn’t show anyone in the period costumes. Wanderlove was fun, too.

  9. I really enjoyed your list, I hadn’t heard of any of these books before-which is the whole point. I’ll definitely be checking out Wanderlove and maybe Into the Wild Nerd Yonder.

  10. The Knife of Never Letting Go, I loved it! I may need to read Leviathon. And maybe I’ll go pick up Anna and the French Kiss one of these days.

    Thanks for visiting my top ten.

  11. Wanderlove and Megan Mead’s Guide are great picks!

  12. So I took your advice and read Enthusiasm! It was a lot of fun 🙂 just posted my review today – thanks for the rec!

Leave a comment