Top Ten Tuesday: Judging a Book By Its Cover

toptentuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish is all about what’s on the outside. This is so easy! And I am going to let the pictures speak for themselves.

1. Raven Boys  by Maggie Stiefvater. This is a PERFECT example of why you should not judge a book by its cover. Ok, well go ahead and do that with this one because both book and cover are awesome. But…not so much with the lovely Wolves covers. The covers are the best part of the books. IMO, of course.

raven boys

2. The Nightmare Affair by Mindee Arnett. It’s lovely, spooky, not too “girlie”, and it matches the story. I heard the author speak recently and she said she was fortunate to have a little input about the cover and she did ask for and receive some changes. I am looking forward to the next book!

nightmare affair

3. Sisters Red and Sweetly by Jackson Pearce. How awesome are these covers? So awesome. I still need to read Sweetly.

sisters red sweetly

4. Hold Me Closer, Necromancer and Necromancing the Stone by Lish McBride. The covers changed between the first and second book, and I have to say it’s an improvement. There was nothing wrong with the original cover; it was fine. The new ones, however, are shiny and pop. Also, they may have the most clever titles ever. I love these books.

hold me closer 2 necromancing

5. Ruby Red, Sapphire Blue, and Emerald Green by Kerstin Gier. These covers are gorgeous and the series is so much fun. I cannot wait for Emerald Green!

ruby red sapphire blue emerald green

6. Cinder by Marissa Meyer. The cover for Scarlet is pretty, but I am particularly fond of Cinder’s weird and bada¤¤ cover.

cinder

7. The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare. I am not a fan of The Mortal Instruments covers (I especially dislike Clary’s wild red hair on the covers). I do however, love the clockwork covers.

clockwork angel clockwork prince clockwork princess

8. Ask the Passengers by A.S. King. I love the sun on this cover. I think models on covers can be cheesy and/or quickly date a book, but this one works.

ask

9. Going Vintage by Lindsey Leavitt. Now this one is intentionally dated and it so cute!

going vintage10. The Diviners by Libba Bray. I don’t know what it is about this one. It’s not super cool or pretty, but I really like it. It must be the creepy eye…

diviners

Honorable Mentions:

mind gamesnight circusbeauty queensleviathan

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

11 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Judging a Book By Its Cover

  1. Oooo…I love The Ruby Red Trilogy covers (they very nearly made it on my list and I’m also quite excited for Emerald Green to be released) and The Infernal Devices covers. Great choices!!

    Megan@Xenophobic Bibliophile

  2. The Infernal Devices are some of my all time favorite covers! I loveeee Ask the Passengers(the cover, haven’t read the book) and I really love Mind Games. I wish I had of loved the book a bit more because the cover is oh so stunning 😀 Thanks for stopping by my picks!!

    Lauren @ Lose Time Reading

  3. Totally agreed about The Night Circus. Such great colors!

  4. I loved Sisters Red and didn’t even know Sweetly existed. Now I must read it…

  5. Have Emerald Green on order. Love a series that all goes together!

  6. Ooo, I love the covers for the Lish McBride books. I really need to read those; they look like so much fun. And heck yeah to Cinder and Beauty Queens. They are both on my TTT too 🙂

  7. I forgot about the Infernal Devices covers! I agree, they look a lot better than the ones for the Mortal Instruments. The Night Circus has a great cover as well.

  8. I’ve seen the Jackson Pearce covers loads of times but they still get my attention. Brilliant list.

  9. I love LOVE the cover of Ask the Passengers, have yet to read it though.
    The one you picked is good too, but I actually like the other cover (http://www.goodreads.com/book/photo/16133652-going-vintage) of Going Vintage better 🙂
    And Cinder – <333

Leave a comment