Top Ten Tuesday-Favorite Characters in Genre X (aka Let’s Hear it For the Boy(s))

toptentuesday

This week The Broke and the Bookish have asked about our favorite characters in any genre of our choosing. That’s a great idea, but I am going to cheat a little. Today I feel like talking about boys. I feel like I am always making a fuss about some awesome leading lady (and they totally deserve all the love and fuss) and kind of neglect the boys or swoon over them in a romancey way. Well, here are some totally awesome guys who rock in their own right.

1. Will Treaty from The Ranger’s Apprentice John Flanagan. You know how much I love this series, right? And really, it’s not fair to just pick Will because Horace and Halt are equally amazing. I have all the love for all the boys.

ranger

2. Ed Kennedy from I am the Messenger by Markus Zusak. Ed’s a bit of a loser, but he ends up doing great things. I would totally hang out with him.

i am the messenger

3. Sam LaCroix from Hold Me Closer Necromancer by Lish McBride. Under-achieving smart guy with a totally creepy power? Yup. Also, he’s hilarious.

necromancer

4. Wade Watts from Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. I am almost finished with this book, and I love it. Wade caused a roller coaster ride of emotions for me. Everything from pity to admiration. What a great character!

ready

5. Cassel Sharpe from The Curse Workers series by Holly Black. And here comes the bad boy…

white cat

6. Gansey from The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. I think maybe Blue is supposed to be the main character, but for me, this was all about Gansey and his quest.

raven boys

7.  Doug Swieteck from Okay for Now by Gary Schmidt. I think I may have mentioned before how I feel all the feelings for Doug.

okay for now

8. Tiny Cooper from Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan. Tiny is just a giant bundle of great energy. You have to love him. I think it might be a rule.

will grayson

9. Ethan Wate from Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl. When I first started reading this I was impressed by the fact that the main point of view in this paranormal romance was an average teenaged boy. Nothing unique or weird. It was refreshing. I really should finish this series…

beautiful creatures

10. Todd from The Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness. Oh Todd, through two books you have impressed me. I am afraid and hopeful about what is in store for you in book 3.

knife of neve

Also a great big shout out to Percy Jackson and you will want to check out Flick in How to Lead a Life of Crime by Kirsten Miller. He’s pretty cool.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

15 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-Favorite Characters in Genre X (aka Let’s Hear it For the Boy(s))

  1. I haven’t read a single one of these yet. 😦 But I keep seeing several of them popping up on top lists, so I need to make time for them. I love your Let’s Here It For the Boys take on this one!

  2. Oooo. I always feel like talking about fictional boys. 😉 I love Ethan Wate as well. He’s fantastic. Great picks! Thanks for stopping by my Top Ten

  3. Ah, you’re right on with these picks! I love #2, 5 & 10 especially – and it makes me want to read the books on your list that I haven’t picked up yet because clearly you have impeccable taste. Thanks for sharing!

  4. I haven;t read any of these books which is just so sad and unfortunate but I love your list as it includes boys from a variety of genres. Great list =D

    Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday post!

    Sana @ artsy musings of a bibliophile

  5. I like Todd and Wade Watts from your list 🙂

  6. I’m a Gansey fan too! Good choices!

    Check out my TTT.

    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

  7. Haha, it seems as if everyone loves Tiny! Who wouldn’t?!

    Great choices. 🙂

  8. I’d really like to get around to the Knife Of Never Letting Go and White Cat. Heard good things about each. Nice list. 🙂

  9. I agree with Tiny Cooper. Literary perfection!

  10. You’re right that it was super refreshing to have average teenage boy Ethan be the storyteller in Beautiful Creatures. I never got around to reading any of the other books in this series yet.

    Ready Player One keeps popping up in the blogosphere, and I keep meaning to read it. Thanks for reminding me about that one! Great list!

  11. I LOVE CASSEL! 🙂 🙂 I JUST started The Raven Boys but now I’m excited to love on Gansey. Thanks for stopping by our TTT!

  12. I really, really need to read Hold Me Closer Necromancer. I don’t know why it’s taking me so long.

    Also, great idea to feature boys. I also really like Percy Jackson.

  13. I LOVE LOVE LOVE the one’s you mentioned so I definitely have to check out the rest. Another guilty Gansey fan here

  14. Oh, I love Cassel Sharpe. Have you read Finnikin of the Rock and His Dark Materials? Finnikin and Will would absolutely make my list of excellent boy heroes.

  15. You keep mentioning you’re love of Ally Carter (fyi SHE’S AMAZING). if I made a list like this Zach and Hale would totally be at the top. Also if you like dystopians read Divergent by Veronica Roth and Article 5 by Kristen Simmons, add Four and Chase to my imaginary boy’s from books lists!

Leave a comment