Mondays with Megan- Death by Chocolate, A Visit to Grandpa’s Cheese Barn, and a Bit of Light Reading 2/9/14

Good Afternoon Dear Reader! Thanks for stopping by and reading my ramblings.

In case you missed it, last week I held a Death by Chocolate program that drew about 40 teens. I love doing this program. There is quite a bit of prep work that goes into it, but it’s worth it. I played Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory as the backdrop for all of the day’s events. I had a buffet table set with crock pots of melted chocolate and a variety of things to be covered in said melted chocolate-marshmallows, graham crackers, pretzels, vanilla wafers, and bananas. I also printed up some Valentine’s Day BINGO cards and used M&Ms and markers. I am always amazed by how much everyone loves to play BINGO. Winners got mini candy bars. I had a worksheet with pictures of cross sections of well-known chocolate bars and challenged participants to identify as many as possible. I also had some chocolate covered insects on hand and dared them to be brave enough to eat one. I had 12 daring souls chewing on meal worms and crickets (gag)! Oh, and just because I could, I whipped up mini chocolate chip pancakes. We had so much fun!

I had a very busy weekend that included a stop at Grandpa’s Cheese Barn. I still can’t believe that this was my first time there! It’s like a little slice of heaven in the middle of Ohio! I only had time for some graphic novels over the weekend, but I am ahead of schedule on my new goal, so I am not fretting my current novel dry spell.

mondayreading new monday

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Be sure to stop by Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for more reading lists.

Finished:

gigantic beard one plus one mortal coil revival1 revival2 revival3

  • The Gigantic Beard That Was Evil by Stephen Collins-♥♥♥♥♥. Weird and clever and unusual. Amazing black and white illustrations.
  • One Plus One by Jojo Moyes-♥♥♥♥. I’m a sucker for a good road trip story. Especially one with quirky characters!
  • Mortal Coil by Derek Landy-♥♥♥♥♥. Book 5 in the Skulduggery Pleasant series is very long and very dark and super amazing!
  • Revival vol. 1-3 by Tim Seeley-♥♥♥♥. Give this to your Walking Dead fans! In a small town in Wisconsin the dead won’t stay dead.

Current Audio:

last vampire wild rover

  • The Last American Vampire by Seth Grahame-Smith-I didn’t even know there was going to be a sequel to Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter!
  • Wild Rover No More by L.A. Meyer-the final chapter in the Jacky Faber saga.

Currently Reading (though not very committed to them and will be willing to abandon if something better comes along):

tunnel vision geek girl

Happy Reading!

~Megan

7 responses to “Mondays with Megan- Death by Chocolate, A Visit to Grandpa’s Cheese Barn, and a Bit of Light Reading 2/9/14

  1. I really need to get back to the Skulduggery Pleasant series. Read the first one and LOVED it, but I’ve never read any further!

  2. The Death By Chocolate program sounds like a lot of fun (except the insect part). I would love to do something chocolate related for the adults at my library sometime.

    One Plus One was one of my favorites last year though very different from Me Before You. If you haven’t read that one, consider adding it to your TBR list. It will be a movie in August 🙂

    I am curious about Geek Girl. Some people really seem to love it. I am not sure if I would be one of those people! I recently read a great “geek” book by Emery Lord, The Start of Me and You, about a teen who joins her school’s Quiz Bowl team.

  3. Being from Wisconsin, the Revival series sounds super interesting. Also, the cheese store sounds amazing. (Yes, I stereotypically love cheese…I’m a Wisconsinite). I love the idea for a Death by Chocolate party! So fun!

  4. After passing Grandpa’s Cheese Barn for 35 years, I finally stopped with my daughters on the way to Kent State. It’s even mentioned in a Popularity Papers book! Glad you finally got to stop as well.

  5. I love the idea of the Death by Chocolate party, but am not sure I have the energy for it. Can I just be your student next time? I am ashamed to admit that I have not read one book from the Skulduggery Pleasant series. I’ve fixed that by ordering the first one as an audiobook from our local library!

  6. Ooh, that Geek Girl book looks interesting! Looking forward to seeing what you have to say about it when you’re done. 🙂

    Happy reading!

  7. I have The Gigantic Beard that was Evil in my Goodreads Wish list for quite awhile now – it does look exactly like my kind of read.

Leave a comment